If You Want To Sing Out, Sing Out

Happy TUNEBACK TUESDAY!! I was inspired for this week’s TuneBack when I was visiting my childhood summer camp a couple days ago. I first went as a camper in 1992, was a staff member from 1995-2006 and I’m still involved with the camp today. While visiting, I was remembering all of the music that I first heard while up at camp. One day (when I was on staff), I was introduced to the movie “Harold and Maude” by the camp co-director, Vicki. She told me that I absolutely HAD to see this movie. She was right. I fell in love with the movie and the wonderful songs (all written and sung by Cat Stevens). There isn’t an official music video for the film’s theme song, “If You Want To Sing Out, Sing Out”, but the trailer for “Harold and Maude” features the entire song. If you haven’t seen this movie, I highly recommend watching it. It’s a beautiful film about a 20-year-old boy obsessed with death who befriends an 80-year-old woman obsessed with life.

ORIGINAL RELEASE DATE: 1971

TRIVIA: “If You Want To Sing Out, Sing Out” was composed specifically for the movie. The song was unavailable on record until appearing on a 1984 compilation. An official soundtrack album wasn’t released until 2007.

See you next Tuesday!!

Leave a Reply

