I Won’t Back Down

Happy TUNEBACK TUESDAY!! I grew up listening to a LOT of Tom Petty. This was mostly because my Dad was (and still is) in a Tom Petty Tribute Band. Whenever I hear a Tom Petty song, I can’t not hear my Dad. Much like my Dad, I love Tom Petty’s music. Today I decided on tuning back to “I Won’t Back Down” (Tom Petty’s first single released from his first solo album, Full Moon Fever).

ORIGINAL RELEASE DATE: April 1989

TRIVIA: In January 2015, it was revealed that an agreement had been reached whereby Petty and Jeff Lynne would be credited as co-writers of Sam Smith’s song “Stay with Me” and receive 12.5% of its royalties. Petty’s publishing company had contacted Smith’s publisher after noticing a likeness between “Stay with Me” and “I Won’t Back Down”. Petty clarified that he did not believe Smith plagiarized him, saying “All my years of songwriting have shown me these things can happen. Most times you catch it before it gets out the studio door but in this case it got by. Sam’s people were very understanding of our predicament and we easily came to an agreement”. Smith claimed he had never heard “I Won’t Back Down” before he wrote “Stay with Me”, but he acknowledged the similarity after listening to the song, and said that the likeness was “a complete coincidence”. Petty and Lynne were not eligible for a Grammy Award (“Stay with Me” was nominated for three awards at the 57th annual ceremony, winning two of them) as the Recording Academy considered “Stay with Me” to have been interpolated from “I Won’t Back Down” by Smith, James Napier, and William Phillips, the writers of “Stay with Me”; Petty and Lynne were instead given certificates to honor their participation in the work, as is usual for writers of sampled or interpolated work.

BONUS VIDEOS:
“STAY WITH ME” by Sam Smith

“STAY WITH ME/WON’T BACK DOWN” (showing the incredible similarities)

See you next Tuesday!!

Leave a Reply

