I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles)

Happy TUNEBACK TUESDAY!! Today I’m tuning it back to “I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles)” by The Proclaimers. Enjoy!!

ORIGINAL RELEASE DATE: August 1988

TRIVIA: Although it failed to reach the top ten in either the UK or Ireland on its initial release, it has since become their most popular song worldwide, initially becoming a number 1 hit in Iceland, before reaching number 1 in both Australia and New Zealand in early 1989, and in 1993 the song reached the top five on both the US Billboard Hot 100 and Canadian Hot 100 charts following its appearance in the film Benny & Joon.

The song was mainly written by Craig Reid in mid-1987 while waiting to travel to a Proclaimers concert in Aberdeen. Reid recalled, “I can remember sitting at the piano and the chords just came to me. I reckon I wrote the whole thing in 45 minutes. I knew that it was a good song, maybe even a single, but I had no idea how popular it would become.”

See you next Tuesday!!

Leave a Reply

