I Am What I Am

Happy TUNEBACK TUESDAY!! In honour of National Coming Out Day, I’m tuning it back to “I Am What I Am” by Gloria Gaynor. Remember to bang your own drum… and be proud of who you are. Enjoy!!

ORIGINAL RELEASE DATE: 1983

TRIVIA: I Am What I Am is a song originally introduced in the Tony Award-winning Broadway musical La Cage aux Folles (1983–1987). The song is the finale number of the musical’s first act, and performed by the character of Albin Mougeotte, first played by George Hearn. The song was composed in 1983 by Jerry Herman, an openly gay man.

The song was later released as a single by Gloria Gaynor in 1983 and went on to become one of the singer’s best known songs. A club hit in America, Gaynor’s version of “I Am What I Am” was a hit throughout Europe and eventually became a gay anthem.

See you next Tuesday!!

Leave a Reply

