You Spin Me Round (Like a Record)

It’s TUNEBACK TUESDAY! With the sad news of the passing of Pete Burns, I’m tuning it back to his classic ’80s hit, “You Spin Me Round (Like a Record)” by Dead or Alive. Rest in Peace, Pete. Thank you for the music.

ORIGINAL RELEASE DATE: November 5, 1984

TRIVIA: Dead or Alive’s vocalist Pete Burns states in his autobiography that he composed “You Spin Me Round” by using two existing songs as inspiration for creating something new:

How did I write “Spin Me”? I listened to Luther Vandross’s ‘I Wanted Your Love’. It’s not the same chord structure, but then that’s the way I make music – I hear something and I sing another tune over it. I didn’t sit and study the Luther Vandross album – I heard the song and it locked. […] I’m trying to structure the music and I know what I want. […] It’s like do this, do this, do this – and suddenly it hits. I don’t want to do Luther Vandross’s song, but I can still sing the same pattern over it. And there was another record, by Little Nell, called “See You ‘Round Like A Record”. […] So I had those two, Vandross and Little Nell and – bingo! – done deal.

— Pete Burns, Freak Unique (2007)
See you next Tuesday!
Leave a Reply

