Son of a Preacher Man

Happy TUNEBACK TUESDAY!! Today I’m tuning it back to 1968 with the classic “Son of a Preacher Man” by Dusty Springfield. I think the first time I really noticed this song was when I first saw Pulp Fiction. I always picture Uma Thurman dancing when I hear this.

ORIGINAL RELEASE DATE: November 8, 1968

TRIVIA: The song was originally offered to American Aretha Franklin, who turned it down. However, it was recorded by Aretha’s elder sister Erma Franklin and was included on her 1969 Brunswick album Soul Sister. It was only upon hearing Springfield’s version that Aretha Franklin reconsidered and recorded the song herself including it on her 1970 album, This Girl’s in Love with You.

See you next Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

